The truth of the matter is………

I’m fairly new to this blogging thing and still kinda learning the ropes, so to speak. In saying that, I enjoy it thoroughly. I know at the moment I’m only discussing my boobs, the surgery and the recovery process but this is a personal blog and that’s what is most personal to me right now. In the future I will no doubt blog about many other things as they come into my life.

Today, however, somebody emailed me about my blog and my ‘boob job’ and said, in not such a polite manner, that I talk about it too much. Firstly, I was irritated by the term ‘boob job’. I didn’t have a boob job. I had a ‘bi-lateral reduction mammoplasty’ for very real medical reasons. This wasn’t a cosmetic whim or something I decided to do one lunch time. This was a serious surgery that I had spent years deliberating over and in the end waited for it for quite some time.

For somebody to refer to it as a ‘boob job’ is insulting and disrespectful. No disrespect to implants or augmentation but they’re two very different surgeries. What I went through was over three hours of major invasive surgery. I had 3.5lbs of tissue removed and I was opened open from armpit to armpit. I’ve had both nipples removed and reattached and I now have scars running from my nipples to beneath my breasts. This was definitely no ‘boob job’.

This ain't no 'Boob Job'

I apologise if this offends or repulses anyone, but that’s the reality of the situation. I felt compelled to share this with you, as people seem to be shocked and amazed by the scale of the recovery required following this procedure. The fact is it’s only in the last few days that I’ve been able to shower and get dressed without help. One day soon I’ll be up and active again and this will all seem like a distant memory, but in the meantime, I’m counting down the days until I can do the things I’m unable to do at the minute.

Think about not being able to hug those nearest and dearest to you. It’s the thing I really, really miss the most. There’s so much I’ve missed and so much I’m looking forward to. I’ll be able to sleep in any position other than sitting up, propped by a dozen pillows. Oh and I’ll be allowed to drive. I’m also excited to be able to shave my own legs and paint my own toes again. The thought of never having to wear a sports bra to bed, or wince when I’m putting on my socks, fills me with joy. I’ll even be able to laugh again without hurting.

The list of things I can’t physically do right now is endless and I’m not going to bore you with them. For now I’ll just say that, unfortunately, it’s recovery time and that’s what I have to do.

It won’t last forever………..

P.S: Thanks to Christian and Dena for their input and help on this post.

29 responses to “The truth of the matter is………

  • Rosemary

    I’m continually surprised by the number of people who seem to think it’s okay to tell people what to do, just because part of their lives are online. Hate that. You’re so brave, and so honest – so props for that. And if you’d had a boob job and wanted to write about that, I’d probably say the same thing.

    • juleser

      Ah Maccer, you of all people should be least surprised by the crazy rantings of the public.
      Thanks for the kind words & support through the entire saga….you’re a doll 😉

  • Mo Doris

    Wow, that is a very mean thing to say! 😦

  • Steph

    Sweet baby Jesus, I never fail to be mesmerised by people. Keep talking, keep blogging and keep sharing in whatever way you feel like.

    If anyone doesn’t like it let them tune out. Small loss.

  • Celine

    Crazy, the fact that someone thinks it’s ok to tell you what to talk about or not talk about. Anyone having gone through a serious medical procedure will know it takes a lot to recuperate. You take your time and talk about whatever you want to talk about.. that person should just stop listening if they’re so bothered. Sheesh, people!

  • Christian

    No one has the right to tell you that you’re sharing too much. It’s the internet, no one is forcing anyone to read anything. If you don’t like something then don’t read it.

    They can feck off. Your blog is brilliant (as biased as I may be) – something truly from the heart that you’ve done so as to create something that other women could read and see if they were in a similar spot. Ignore all idiots, their stupidity is neither worth your time nor your worry.

    • juleser

      You’re right, they can feck off & I hope they have after reading this post.
      Thanks for being there hon. 🙂

      • JA

        I have to echo CH, they don’t like they don’t read! One wonders what prompts someone to be so mean?? One thing for sure it’s not because they are comfortable in their own skin! …. If u ain’t got nothing nice to say, say nothing at all!

  • curlydena

    Jeez, you don’t half bang on about your baps, Jules. Anyone would think that’s why you’d started this blog; to, y’know, talk about how you were feeling.

    It’s not all about you, though. Especially on your own blog. Oh. Hang on…

    Ah.

    I see.

    Oh TITS!

  • Jenn

    Since learning of your surgery I’ve been nothing but mesmerised by you – you’ve shown nothing but courage and a sunny outlook, yes you’ve admitted there’s pain & you’ve even allowed us a glimpse at your frustrations but you’ve remained positive – you’re a stronger woman that me because I would have been like a spoiled princess throughout the whole thing!!! So whoever Miss\Mr “stop talking about you boob-job” is then I suggest they start reading Playboy where the girls are all about boob jobs and leave u to blog abou whatever u chose because to me ur an inspiration … Jenn x

  • Mel Schregardus

    What amazes me about all this is the sense of humour that still shines through amid all the pain you’re going through. If blogging has managed to distract you, however slightly, from the recovery then happy days! I’ve been thrilled to be able to keep up with your progress, would’ve hated for you to disappear off twitter/FB til you were better. As Christian says (and this is my philosophy on Twitter) .. if you don’t like it, you know where the unfollow/block/close button is!

    Mel
    x

  • Sarah

    Ah missey! This is awful. I really hope you are ok and hoping you get better super fast or at least that it goes by really quickly anyway. There are a lot of haters in the world, so disregard the lot and look forward to some light and fluffy 3.5lbs lighter boobs in the months to come! 🙂

  • Alan Andrews

    Hey jules. Well done you. Hope you have a speedy recovery and u enjoy every minute of your new shape.

    Take care
    Alan

  • Brad

    Oh, as if. Is it someone you know in real life? Cos if it is, you should give them a slap.

    It’s your blog, it’s their choice whether they choose to read it or not. Simple.

  • Carol

    Your blog is truly brilliant and I believe an inspiration to us all. You’ve taken something painful & bad & turned it into a wonderful story with an insight into what truly goes on.
    Whoever that nasty person is obviously is very narrow minded with a pessimistic outlook on life, basically they must be stoopid bored with their bland boring life & need to comment on your bravery to feel good about themselves!!!!!!!! & I hope that person is also able to read all these comments & realise how little they are!!!
    Keep blogging!!! XX

  • Anne-Marie

    Ah, don’t feckin’ heed them. Like has been said above, on internet, there is SO much to be seen and read, that if they don’t want to read this then why would they bother? And if your updates bother them that much, why are they following? Any WHY would they go to the bother of commenting? Just be rude? The mind boggles!

    I only stumbled upon your blog through twitter and I’ve enjoyed reading this and the boob updates, so keep ’em coming and screw the begrudgers, they probably don’t have any boobs at all and are just jealous! 😉

    Wishing you a speedy recovery and keep blogging! 🙂

  • Helena Hasler

    Hi Jules,

    Just read your article in the times, as a fellow H cup I empathise. Your story seems like one of the lest horrific I have read, my sister in law had hers done and the scars were horrific it really scared me off ever having this done. Best of luck with everything and your recovery. Don’t mind the moaners, if all they have to do is complaning about reading about yours then it truely is a small life they are leading.

    • juleser

      Hi Helena,

      Thanks for taking the time out to comment on my blog & for reading it & the article.
      I’m sorry to hear about your sisters experience with her surgery. Despite the few hiccups during recovery, I have been blessed. I suppose I was lucky with having an awesome surgeon & superb aftercare. I’d recommend the Blackrock & my surgeon in a heartbeat. Same for the procedure itself. I have a new lease of life since I’ve had it done. If you want to discuss it further or have any questions that you want answered privately, please let me know & I can email you.

      Jules

Leave a Reply

